Go Back   Russia.com Discussion Forum > Open Board > Open Board


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 04:34
flying_unicorn flying_unicorn is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 220
It is the modern-day equivalent of a border sentry. When visitors try to enter UKBetting.com, a computer program checks their identification to determine where they are logging in from. Most people are waved on through. Those from the United States, China, Italy and other countries where gambling laws are muddy, however, are flashed a sign in red letters that says "ACCESS DENIED" and are locked out of the Web site.

http://www.iht.com/articles/43798.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 04:41
flying_unicorn flying_unicorn is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 220
What do the bolsheviks have to do with it, Ron?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 04:48
vorosilov vorosilov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,131

You right Ronbo!

But what does it have to do with the Cossaks?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 05:16
observer58 observer58 is offline
Former Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 302
Care to make a wager?

Greetings Flying_Unicorn,
I got into the site without any problems and I am from the US. Was there a specific area that could not be accessed?


have a great one,
John
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 05:25
Mariboulg Mariboulg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,659
Yes me too I got in if it is the same site we are talking about.

But if you read on front page of the site they write this:
Please note that applications will not be accepted from residents of United States of America or any of their territories. .

But I think that can be legal not directly something against USA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 05:52
observer58 observer58 is offline
Former Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally posted by Mariboulg
Yes me too I got in if it is the same site we are talking about.

But if you read on front page of the site they write this:
Please note that applications will not be accepted from residents of United States of America or any of their territories. .

But I think that can be legal not directly something against USA.
I bet it is

Mariboulg,
It is the same site we speak about. That must be where the "Access Denied" warning pops up, when trying to sign up. I didn't try it. I'll leave that to the gambler(s)


have a great one,
John
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th January 2002, 05:58
flying_unicorn flying_unicorn is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 220
I didn't try it myself, I just thought the news of the electronic fences was shoking after we got the taste of the borderless web. How far will they go with it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +3. The time now is 11:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC4 © 2006, Crawlability, Inc.